In today’s competitive world many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work while some say that children in these families benefit from additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents absence ?Do you agree or disagree?

The fierce competition in current society makes a significant number of families consider full-time working to secure more resources for their kids. Such decision has both benefits and drawbacks on their children’s development. Personally, I agree to the opinion that the extra income from working parents is beneficial to their children’s academically. However, absent parents are not good for youngsters because of the lack of support emotionally. To begin with, I support that children can have advantages on their academic performance with the additional income from their working parents. With more resources to be spent on employing tutors and interest classes, youngsters can have a competitive advantage over their peers. For example, a recent survey revealed that working parents in Hong Kong spent around $5000 per month on tutor classes and extra-curricular activities. As both academic results and achievements in extra-curricular activities will be taken in consideration when admitting to a good university, a child in these families is more likely to have a better prospect on academic achievement. Secondly, I agree that one of the drawbacks of working parents families is that children cannot receive enough emotional support from their parents. For example, parents from rural China choose to work in cities and left their kids behind at home. Due to separation, a numerous of adolescents do not have a good relationship with parents and are prone to emotional problems. Parents ’ emotional support and communication are essential to fostering a harmonious family. It plays a crucial role in children’s mental health. It is undeniable that parents have made significant effort to provide a good environment for their next generation. To conclude, in my opinion, youngsters raised in working parent families can have access to better resources but they may have less emotional support from their parents. I hope parents can try their best in balancing the pros and cons of being working fathers and mothers.