It is becoming increasingly popular for school leavers to take a year off (a gap year) before going to university. Do the advantages of this outweigh any disadvantages?

Nowadays, more and more young people are taking a gap period before going to study at university. In this essay, I will examine the advantages and disadvantages of this break. The two main advantages of a gap year are understanding much better what is your purpose in life and becoming more mature. Firstly, when you have a free year, you can start thinking about what you want your life to be like, and what type of people you want to have in your social group and, overall, you start understanding your personality and your goals better. For example, if a boy doesn't know what job suits him, after a year of exploring,he may understand his strengths. Secondly, if individuals spent 12 months far away from home, they will become mature and independent. Additionally,they will learn to take adult responsibilities and this will prepare them for life. However, a free period after 12 classes also has some disadvantages such as losing contact with studying methods and not having the motivation to sit at the desk for 8 hours anymore. If students stop using their minds for memorising, it will be very hard for them to remind the study techniques that work for their brains. For instance, if I stop learning biology for 3 months, after that period,I won't memorize information as fast as I used to. Furthermore, students won't be able to concentrate for 8 hours, and they will want to travel and live a free lifestyle. In conclusion, although a gap time can make school leavers want to live a free lifestyle and can make them lose their concentration power, It has an extremely positive effect on understanding their growth purpose and in hurrying the maturation process. I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.