It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

In the present times, big shopping complexes and online websites have taken over the commercial industry and some people might argue that it has a direct impact on the local communities. This essay will engage points relating to the downside of this drastic change and how it has affected the small-scale business owner. To add on, possible solution. To begin, I would like to spare some light on the reason why supermarkets have taken over the industry. Firstly, they are one shop stop for the consumer making it easier for them to choose from different products and compare prices, moreover, this even saves time for the customer which is a very important aspect in today's fast-paced world. For instance, the world's largest food chain Walmart offers clothing options and even electronic devices making it a perfect one-stop example. However, a survey has shown that this has a negative effect on the local business, as competing with bigger firms, and providing the same services as they do can be nail-biting for small business owners because all this requires a lot of initial capital and networking. In addition, these large-scale industries provide door-to-door service which again is a very difficult task for the local business community. But there are some possible solutions which can be opted for by these struggling local industries to withstand. One of them is to collaborate with online platforms like Amazon, Uber Eats, and many more to sell their products. This allows them to showcase their product to the market all around the globe helping them increase their overall sales percentage.