Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discus the advantages and disadvantages.

Taking a gap year is becoming a trend for students graduating high school. It is sometimes seen that they use this time to find a job or to travel to places outside their state and in many cases even their countries. I believe this can seem disadvantageous in the short term however, overall it is a better decision. Both work and travel allow you to gain real-life experience. While a job can either allow you to build the professional skills required for a long-term role or it can help you decide if you would like to continue with that profession in the long run. Travelling allows pupils to become more self-sufficient and also makes them knowledgeable about the ongoing trends in other parts of the country or the world which can help them decide where they would like to settle in the long run. Many people argue that it is better to complete a degree before finding a job or to allocate time for travelling. This is because the initial salary for many jobs is more for people who have the educational qualification to support their job role, and the sooner one completes the required degree or certification sooner they can start getting paid more for the same role. With regards to dropping a year for travelling, it is often considered a wastage of one's parents' money and can even be considered a financial burden when the families are not that well-off. To conclude, a year between high school and one's degree course or college can be a disadvantage in the short term due to the financial burden due to travelling or delay in obtaining a higher initial salary. Though it is more advantageous to build a career in the stream or the geographical location of your choice that a gap period can help you decide.