In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in someway. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, businesses have started adopting a marketing tactic to present their products are new in some way. Development of new products and advancement of existing ones is a good thing however, such advertising campaigns are often misleading and are overall not good for the customers. Firstly, such businesses often advertise their products with new gimmicky keywords which leads the viewers into believing that they are getting something considerably better than an existing brand in the market. These keywords are mostly proprietary so there is not enough information available for the general population to research about it. Consequently, this improves the sales of a commodity immediately after the launch as more people want to try a product that claims to be different from an already available item. Secondly, presenting a product to be different from anything available from their competitors can allow the companies to charge a premium from their customers. A similar strategy has been utilized by Apple over the years where they market every iteration of their product as something new however, they do not share any relevant comparisons with other products already available either from their own line of products or from their competition. The general consumer often falls for such deceiving campaigns and upgrades their devices every year even when there is no substantial gain. Moreover, a large number of people buying every updated product is bad for the environment as their existing products mostly add up to the already increasing junk in our environment. To conclude, progress in the development of any kind of product is a good thing however, the marketing trend and spending on the same done by most companies without the backing of proper research and without the availability of statistical improvements compared to other products negatively impacts the world.