Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether humans should eat meat has been a topic of interest. One school of thought holds that becoming a vegetarian is key to a healthy diet. In this essay, I will elaborate on my agreement with that view. On one hand, it is understandable why many people subscribe to the view that eating meat is of great importance. Advocates may argue that meat contains some nutrients that our bodies can not get from plants, namely B12 and D3. Therefore, people who stop eating meat are at high risk of B12 and D3 deficiency, leading to adverse conditions such as impaired brain functions and cardiovascular diseases. However, nowadays, in the reign of supplement products, plant-based eaters can easily find vitamin supplements in every pharmacy. Hence, lacking the aforementioned vitamins is avoidable. On the other hand, there is a host of compelling reasons why I firmly believe that adopting a plant-based lifestyle would do wonders for our health in general. One key rationale is slowing ageing periods. A primary reason behind this could be vegetarian diets contain a wide range of vegetables and fruits which are rich in antioxidants, an element that can counter the destructive effects of free radicals in the body. As a result, consuming more plant foods could alleviate signs of ageing in humans. Another justification is boosting the digestive system. It is apparent that human bodies can not be able to digest protein from animal products naturally as absorbing protein from plant foods. Obviously, our bodies have to break the protein extracted from meat -based foods into small chunks so that our bodies could absorb them. And, of course, this process requires a significant amount of energy. Thus, a higher intake of leafy vegetables and fruits could build a strong digestive system and save energy. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that meat is a great source of nutrients, I would contend that adopting vegetarian diets would bring more health benefits in the long run.