In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in someway. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Growing demand for new products in modern society poses intensive pressure on businesses in advertisement to attract the huge attention of the public. There are a number of factors that contribute to this trend. I believe that this is generally a negative development for the following reasons. On the one hand, when more new items are promoted to the public, various advantages are expected for consumers because they can facilitate the life of individuals to a greater extent. For example, codeless vacuum cleaners allow people to move around more freely without worries to fall down while cleaning floors. In other words, they raise the level of safety among the users. It is especially crucial among seniors in the current ageing society where the number of seniors rises dramatically. Furthermore, they can reduce their stress toward housework and are able to maintain their house clean thanks to the availability of such convenient tools. On the other hand, some negative consequences of excessive advertisements on new merchandise should be taken into serious consideration in terms of increasing financial burdens. For instance, consumers have to pay a greater amount of money for newly developed smartphones whose camera is so advanced to provide more highly precise images than ever before. The average cost of these devices is as much as above 50000 yen in contrast to conventional cell phones whose cost is usually below 10000. Thus, phones have become luxurious products that many people cannot afford purchasing them and end up in huge debt. Therefore, being easily attracted to newer items advertised on TV and other media sources is detrimental to self-regulation,especially among children. In conclusion, while the promotion of unfamiliar items allows consumers to have a more convenient life, the intense attention to them can lead to their financial corruption in the end. People should be more careful in making clever choices in the mass consumption age.