Some people say that because we can now watch films on our phones, there is no reason to go to the cinema. Others say that films should be seen in a cinema in order to be fully enjoyed. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Due to advancements in technology, a debate about cinema has arisen, with some believing that there is no point in going to the theatre when your phone can now play movies while others disagree and stand with the belief that in order to fully enjoy a film it needs to be seen in a cinema. This essay will discuss both views and the reasons why my opinion agrees with the latter. Technology has advanced so much that we can now watch a movie on our phones. This advancement has become so convenient that it is now easy to watch a newly released movie or even your favourite movie while you're on the go like when you are on the train or bus stuck having a long journey, for example. Additionally, watching on your phone allows you to enjoy a private/quiet viewing as not everyone enjoys watching films with multiple people. On the other hand. the cinematic experience can not be replaced as the big screen, surround sound and available food from the concession stand attracts viewers to experience film along with companions that love movies as much as you. This shared time allows you to form memories as you watch blockbusters live experiencing history, just like how the Titanic is the most viewed film in cinematic history, for instance. That is due to the devoted viewers who made it possible. In conclusion, in my opinion, I would rather watch a feature film with friends/family in a theatre than on my phone because my handset is too small for me to fully feel that euphoric sense the cinema provides.