Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The notion concerning the decoration of houses has been of great consideration in society. While many favour the homogeneous style of house in a region, others maintain that everyone is at liberty to construct their homes based on their interest. The following essay will elaborate on both perspectives and put forth my point of view. To commence with, building houses with similar styles can confer significant benefits regarding cultural preservation and public beauty. The former is predicated on the assumption that many ancient architectures possess traditional and cultural features, so following their styles can not only preserve but also promote the local history. For example, many structures in Hoi An ancient town are built nostalgically, helping it attract many tourists and investments. Moreover, the resemblance that new and old houses share can enhance the public image of that region as it renders the public view more harmonious and cohesive. On the other hand, I am more convinced that people should be freely allowed to follow their desired styles of embellishment. Firstly, the heterogeneous ways of construction and decoration can facilitate varying beauty. For instance, while historic houses foster a sense of nostalgia, modern flats or apartments instil a sense of luxury and royalty. Moreover, a style suited to one’s interest can bring about a feeling of satisfaction and convenience. Specifically, if a girl prefers an extravagant exterior, she will probably feel uncomfortable and not well worth her money when her house is simply and minimally designed. In this way, a free choice for one’s own home style is totally acceptable and necessary in maintaining one’s contentment of living. To sum up, it is undeniable that building a new house resembling their surrounding constructions is conducive to local culture and image. However, individuals should be allowed to choose their own ways of design as it fosters a variety of beauty and is also worth the owner’s money. Consequently, I totally concur that people's autonomy to select their favourite decorative styles of buildings should be guaranteed.