With the popularity of English growing by the day it is becoming a global language. Many people now neglect their own mother tongue and prefer to learn English. What are the problems that could arise if everyone adopts English as a language? Offer some solutions to this problem.

In the present day, English has become increasingly popular as a global language, many people prefer learning English instead of their own native language. This trend can cause significant problems such as loss of cultural identity and delayed cognitive development, this essay will discuss these issues and suggest some solutions. Firstly, one of the most concerning issues is the loss of cultural identity. When people abandon their own languages, they can lose connection to traditional events and native cultures, while giving more attention to the modern Western lifestyle. As a result, this beautiful cultural heritage can be at risk of disappearing. Secondly, neglecting native languages can delay cognitive development, particularly in young children, as they can not communicate comfortably with others, especially neighbourhoods and friends. Research shows that being bilingual can enhance cognitive abilities, learning processes, problem-solving skills and creativity. Therefore abandoning the mother tongue in favour of English may limit the process of learning. To address these problems, schools should teach both native and English languages. This way, people can be more multilingual, and communicate globally while staying connected with their own roots. Additionally, the government should take responsibility for striking these issues. For instance, regulating schools to enhance native language programs launching endangered languages campaigns to raise awareness among citizens and regulating advertisements to have remaining native language on social media and billboards. In conclusion, although English is important, it's essential to maintain our native language. By teaching both, supporting language preservation, and promoting cultural awareness, we can protect our cultural identities.