Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Some claim that the most serious environmental issue in the 20th century is the extinction of plants and animals. Others disagree and believe there are more significant problems we are facing now. I mainly agree with the latter view. Firstly, losing species of certain plants and wild animals is a big issue. This is because it causes chain reactions and may leave a disaster in the natural world. To be specific, the extinction of one kind of creature might break other animals' life cycles and leave them in danger. Take bees as an example, bees are essential for plant pollination. If bees died out, hundreds of vegetation would be endangered. However, there are many other problems human beings should take seriously nowadays since they may directly impact the interests of human beings, such as climate change and air pollution. Global warming results in the sea level rising which means houses and lands might be destroyed and people may lose their homes. In addition, air pollution in some areas has already caused serious health issues. For instance, in the middle of China, many people have been diagnosed breathe disorders at a young age. In conclusion, keeping the variety of natural species is vital to our planet, however, I don't think it is the main issue people need to focus on. Instead, other environmental problems, such as climate change and air pollution, which I believe should be human beings' top concerns as they are more urgent and cause more serious impacts.