Task 2: Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today's era, children tend to become more attracted towards smartphones. Due to this, they spend most of their time on these devices. I strongly believe it has negative developments on the minds of the children, it could lead to more grumpy behaviour and it will also detach them from the real world as well. Smartphones were invented to be feasible for humankind, but most parents tend to forget that smartphone contains highly saturated information which only an adult can comprehend and control. Moreover, before the invention of these phones children back then used to entertain themselves by watching TV programs or playing video games and even playing real outdoor games as well, but as time has evolved children now indulge more in smartphones where they talk and chat to their online friends and play online games most of the time. This has created a problem of detachment from making friends in real-life and getting attached to virtual life where they can easily get manipulated by anyone which could be dicey for them. In addition, spending hours on smartphones have led to unknown health issues in young life it could be eyesight issue or due to lack of activity, they are getting obese. It also creates an issue of behaviour among young kids where they get angry with their parents when they don't get them their desired things because they want to show off in front of their virtual friends. For instance, Most children flaunt their dresses or even smartphones when their parents buy them and no matter how much expensive it would be they easily get disappointed, when someone purchases something even more expensive. This has led to a materialistic mindset among children and forget to appreciate the things which they have. To conclude, Smartphones are addictive towards children and they spend most of their time on it, it will surely lead to unknown problems if they are not rectified. It will always outweigh the negative development more than the positive in the children.