Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technology has brought in the usage of devices and techniques to watch people's activities and locations, most of the time unwillingly being observed. This brings in the concerns of privacy breaching and misuse of the person's private information. Along with it, the pros for this monitoring weigh in by marginally reducing crime rate plus helping the police and intelligence department to capture culprits quicker, increasing public safety. I do believe that using such techniques are more beneficial for public. Apparently, the countries all around are opting for utilizing the gadgets and technologies available to feel safe and secure. This allows them to keep a check and balance in their places, avoiding any type of lawlessness occurrences. Also, when a person knows that the place is highly secured, they do not indulge in such activities and if a case has happened, the authorities can capture the criminal in a short period with the help of the tracking systems and cameras installed. For example, in England, multiple cases of kidnapping took place in early 2000, the Government decided to instal CCTV's in all public places, reducing the crime rate to 2% by the year 2011. On the other hand, there are folks who do not like the presence of cameras in all public areas and are against its usage. The private life of a person gets into public eye which brings in discomfort. A continuous threat of information leaks keeps on them. For instance, research conducted on misuse of information that is fetched from security trackers and cameras showed a high risk of leakage and multiple crimes of threats occurring in Europe, creating cyber crimes 4% more then street crimes. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that these devices which monitor humans, have brought in some dangerous consequences for privacy. However, the advancements still hold the impact beneficial and surpass its flaws.