The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nuclear power has been the measure of strength for countries. They have been using it to manufacture weapons of mass destruction and also as a source of green energy to power houses and industries. Some people argue in favour of this super technology saying that it plays a pivotal role in maintaining power check-and-balance among nations. Others support this on the basis of its usage in clean energy production. This essay will discuss how the potential dangers that nuclear technology possess are far more than their beneficial uses and provide evidence to support this argument. Firstly, nuclear weapons should not be considered the means of world peace. In the wrong hands, a single missile of this kind may wipe out the human race out of existence. It seems, on the surface, that it helps maintain worldwide peace, but I think it has been a very reason for conflict among nations. What if none of them possess this power in the first place? Another view in support of this super technology is related to its use in producing clean energy. However there are other sources like hydropower, windmill, and geothermal, which are equally or even more efficient than the nuclear ones. Moreover, if any accident happens, nuclear leaks can contaminate a large surface area, making it inhabitable to humans for years to come. In conclusion, I restate that nuclear technology is more of a problem than a solution for humans. States should have mutual respect for each other; in case of conflict, it should be resolved by talks and mutual understanding, not by boasting their weapons. As far as clean energy is concerned, we should consider even cheaper and more viable options, which are plenty at our disposal.