The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people believe that increasing online shops would cause all shops and stores in cities to be closed. It seems this statement is not totally accurate on some levels, which will be mentioned here. Firstly, online purchasing could not satisfy customers’ needs, meaning that some people do not have access to the internet. For instance, dwellers in particular suburbs and villages do not benefit from modern technology such as advanced mobiles, laptops, and gadgets; therefore, they should buy from local stores, so shops will continue their work. The second reason is the matter of trust and personal interests. By this, we mean that some customers prefer to buy goods that they can visit and check the quality in person, so all shops and stores would not be closed necessarily. For example, if buyers want to get expensive and valuable commodities such as jewellery, furniture, and electronic equipment, they would prefer to buy them from a store in the city. Finally, the expansion of online stores does not cause local shops in cities and towns to be closed because each one has a specific customer who wants to buy from them. However, a number of people believe that due to the benefits of online shopping, such as saving time and energy, traditional stores will finally be replaced by online shops, which is a wrong idea because some people would rather spend time and energy to have a safe and secure purchase. In conclusion, in my opinion, the lack of access to modern communication facilities and the feeling of security and trust in face-to-face shopping makes the old shops remain. However, some may use online shops due to some advantages, which is not against the existence of local stores in cities.