The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, has great influence in shaping people's ideas and their minds.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer.

Mass media generally refers to means of communication that target the majority of the global demographics. In this day and age, the narratives of mass media are conveyed digitally and influenced by those who have major platforms such as influencers and commercial brands. However, the degree to which the media impacts us shall be discussed further for us to better understand them. It is completely agreed that the subject indefinitely affects the general population. The dissemination could be observed by the amount of engagement the particular contents receive. For instance, since the cultivation of mental awareness in the 21st century, more and more people had come up to admit having one psychological syndrome or another. Sociologist argues that the proliferation of the global population diagnosed with mental disorders has to do with the knowledge of mental health that is spread through social media. In short, monkey see monkey do. This behaviour is also prevalent if we were to observe from an economic standpoint. The world's output has tripled over the last century but only a small echelon of elites have control over this marginal wealth. The scenario owes to the ideological capitalism that is instilled through mainstream media,especially in pharmaceutical, financial and technological fields. The fields actually hold less merits than it is actually valued which should be evaluated by the real demands of said sectors. Instead, information failures have conditioned a large demographic to demand the products at a higher price. To conclude, statistically speaking, the general public's opinions would always be polarising despite the content that they consume but it is empirical to deduce that they would be highly affected one way or another corresponding to the size of target audiences that the media achieved.