Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In this contemporary era, the concept of recycling is an ongoing debate among people. Some believe that the quantity of household recycling is not adequate as it should be, and it demands legal enforcement. In my opinion, although imposing legal requirements may bring about some positive outcomes in a short time, raising the masses’ awareness about this important issue regarding its various aspects, is way more effective. Legal enforcement may result in some merits in a limited period of time, but can not tackle this issue for good. Each legal code that is imposed, not only needs executive enforcement but also requires public support to be obeyed by citizens. If people do not find a code rational or find it difficult to be done, they would stop doing it and the legal act becomes isolated and defective. To exemplify, the prohibition of smoking in public places, is easily violated by people due to a lack of social support and a lack of people ’s awareness of its importance. Thus, legalizing is not an efficient option to overcome this major issue. Additionally, people are usually ignorant of both the reusing and recycling process and its crucial importance, which can lead to a low amount of household recycling. Most individuals do not know how to recycle their wastes and are not aware of the major negative consequences that this problem can bring about to their lives, and how it can endanger their children’s future. Through different cultural and educational programs, the government can demonstrate this activity as a social and global value, hence this act associates with the personages’ values and will become a part of their lifestyle. By implementing such plans, India could encourage its population, especially the young generation, to get involved in recycling their home filth. In conclusion, I opine that raising social awareness and implementing educational and cultural activities can be more fruitful to overcome this concern rather than imposing law enforcement.