Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is an ongoing trend regarding that the public prefer to take substitute of medical care by themselves rather than consulting their previous doctors. While some argue for improvement and lower price of alternative medicines, I strongly believe that visiting an usual doctor should be the first choice. On one hand, some people claim that an alternative medicine or treatment may be more beneficial, motivating them to take such a step. Specifically, supporters held opinions as their options are more advanced and economical. Firstly, following medical development of a certain disease, a patient can be more up-to-date than a comprehensive doctor. This means that he or she may own more opportunities to hear advanced medicines or treatments since rapid technology innovation is leading to increasing scientific breakthroughs. Meanwhile, some substituted methods may take cheaper prices, which are appealing to customers. For instance, India produces various alternative medicines every year with only a half of original cost, capturing more and more patients' attention. On the other hand, I firmly support that people should stick to visit their usual doctor. Namely, it is more conducive for them to ask for help from someone who knows them well. Foremost, long-term doctors embrace rich experience in treatment. Therefore, their medical plans are usually tested, guaranteeing quality and security. Moreover, generally speaking, a doctor holding sufficient familiarity to patient is more reliable to access effective treatments. For example, a well-rounded doctor can acknowledge a certain patient's living habits, financial conditions and diet pattern, which will all contribute to a targeted medical care. Concurrently, it is arguable that an usual doctor represents more emotional bonds rather than simply medical connections. Without mental reliance and support, a patient would not accept treatments in relief. In conclusion, I insist that consulting a certain doctor is a wiser choice for the public since its advantages overweigh disadvantages, considering some benefits in terms of proficiency, familiarity and emotional therapy.