Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

There is a burning issue going on in poor economic nations, where more than a quarter of the population has failed the life battle due to a lack of affordability for medications despite the disease being curable. This has people in a debate whether pharmaceutical companies should reduce the prices to increase affordability. I would argue that a reduction in the price of medicines along with other elements, such as taxes and transportation costs applied to them would help elevate the statistics of unfortunate deaths. Firstly, the nations with poor financial conditions would most likely be unable to provide their people with a satisfactory salaries which would satisfy even their basic needs. On top of that, expenditure towards attaining specialized medications for diseases that can be cured with proper medications and treatments would be an extremely difficult. They would perhaps refrain from getting treated. It is for this reason, I believe if the prices for the medications are reduced to minimal costs, it would enable the patients to look forward to treatment. Secondly, since the drug industries may not sustain due to constant loss in their income, the government should also look forward to minimizing or perhaps removing any taxes imposed on the medications. The amount of extra taxes, such as - supplier fees, retailer charges, transportation costs, and maintenance costs (applicable in certain countries) along with government-specific taxes, like hst or gst in the countries like India, the USA, and Canada, definitely makes an addition to the final selling price, which not only increases the burden over people but also disables their purchasing power. In conclusion, indeed, the pharmacies would be able to mitigate the affordability issues from their side, however, the central authorities should also work on refining the hidden costs and minimizing the problem for the betterment of their citizens.