The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books as they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive high tech media , such as computer software, videos and DVD's . To what extent do you agree or disagree with this segment?

Most people are under the assumption that the main goal of public libraries is just providing books and providing other cutting-edge resources of science and technology including DVDs, videos and applicable software are often considered to be a waste of either resources or money. Although these kinds of science and technology are pricy, I completely disagree with this viewpoint. In the paragraphs to come, I shall further my opinions on this viewpoint. Firstly, in today's interconnected world, it is better for us to utilize advanced technology in every aspect of our lives since these cutting-edge technologies have better availability and they are easy to use. Not only is it impossible to print lots of high-quality and colourful pictures in a book, but also it is costly. Furthermore, there are some limitations in the number of pages and words while in DVDs, software and other technologies these limitations do not exist. For example, it is completely possible to have an electronic book in a small DVD that contains thousands of words, videos and colorful pictures whereas it is out of mind to print a book containing a huge number of pictures and videos. As a result, it is more beneficial for public libraries to use DVDs, software and other technologies to enhance their services and diminish costs. Secondly, new technologies like software, DVDs and videos need significantly less space compared to traditional printing books as thousands of books and videos can be stored in a small computer. Not only do they require smaller space than books, but also they are more searchable and more user-friendly. For example, a student can easily search on the computer for different online books to find their favourite content in a minute while it is more time-consuming to find a special book in a library. Therefore, it is obvious that resources like DVDs and videos either need less space or dwindle the required cost and time to find special content. Consequently, it is better for public libraries to use advanced technologies to improve the efficiency and required space for storing books. In light of these facts, one can conclude that it does more good than harm to the public libraries to utilize DVDs, videos and software since they have better availability, need less physical space and are easy to use. For these reasons, I wholeheartedly believe that public libraries must contain videos, DVDs and software together with their books.