Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many parts of the world have been witnessing an increasing number of workers practising remote working as well as students not going to school to directly attend classes thanks to the advance in technology. Although this phenomenon could somehow lead to certain inconveniences and drawbacks, the benefits that it reaps cannot be neglected, in my opinion. Admittedly, human reliance on technology would undoubtedly be associated with certain disadvantages. One of the most obvious predicaments is that human eyesight could be seriously affected due to continuously staring at the computer screen, which is of greater concern when it comes to children who are increasingly short-sighted. Some may also argue that remote working and distance learning pose a risk of the attendees being distracted from their work as it means less strict control by managers or teachers. Indeed, such electronic devices as smartphones would easily draw students' attention from their study if there is no one observing them strictly. Yet, there are still numerous plus points that would significantly outweigh the aforementioned setbacks. Such merits can be seen in the effects on the environment; in other words, working and studying from home reduce the need for transferring from one place to another, which in turn reduces human's carbon footprint, improving the environment's current state of being badly polluted. Also, thanks to the availability and accessibility conditioned by technology, it has become more convenient for both workers and students to access the relevant documents that serve their work and study. This also means that there is no longer any need for them to use printed paperwork, reducing the amount of wood used for paper making. Additionally, in accordance with the problems expressed above, these can be solved by designing a suitable schedule, coupled with a new set of rules applied for remote working and studying which may involve the use of cameras to boost the attendees' concentration. Thus, online working and studying would inevitably be linked to certain challenges that hinder the progress of employees and pupils. However, people can themselves work out solutions to the possible hindrances and make the most of the benefits that this new method of working and studying confers.