Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit this historical sites and museums?

It is true that most historical sites and museums attract a larger number of tourists; however, local people are less interested. In my opinion, there are numerous reasons for this trend. I will discuss the reason and also give a solution in the ensuing paragraphs. To begin with, people are bored visiting such places. In other words, local citizens know about their own cities therefore, it is not new for them. Hence, they think that such visits are a waste of time. However, tourists are very excited to explore new things in their destinations. Museums and historical sites will help to understand the history and culture of the countries they visit. Another reason is that these types of places tickets are very expensive. If people visited once that they would not pay the higher entrance fees. In addition, there are several solutions to these situations. Firstly, the government should organise campaigns to attract the local public such as free education seminars, health care camps and other programs which will attract. Moreover, the authority of such places gives extra discounts or is free for locals. So that, low and middle-income families can visit. For example, schools or colleges give assignments to the student related to history and they interact with historical places. Lastly, the organisation give more and more job opportunity to the local public. Hence, they work in such places and pursue more knowledge about history. In conclusion, the government can encourage more locals by running interesting programs such as exhibits at these locations and offering free or subsidized entry.