Young people today are better qualified than they were in the past, some people argue that this is because competition for jobs is greater than it used to be, others say that the people only continued their education because the opportunities exist for them to do so, discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Higher education has expanded rapidly in recent years and this is not likely to change in the near future. If employers continue to need highly qualified graduates, more and more young people will choose higher education courses. Therefore the increasing number of university graduates is a result of higher demand for both vocational and individual needs. In modern companies and businesses, technical expertise is one of the most important factors in choosing employees. If employees do not have suitable qualifications, they will not be able to produce goods and services of sufficient quality to satisfy the market, therefore it is extremely important that all employees are well-qualified and have studied the technical requirements of the businesses in depth. For example, the production of food requires a high level of safety, and this means that everyone involved in this process has to understand it in detail. Furthermore, the figure of young people studying in college depends upon the demand from high school graduates. If they are not interested in studying a particular subject at university, they will not apply. For example, a great deal of university applicants choose to major in business studies, which is simply because there are more job posts available nowadays. On the other hand, were courses not provided by universities, it would not be possible for the young to learn about them. As a result, educators should adjust curriculums to keep up with the trend and create new modules that students want to study in order to satisfy students' needs. The growing number of young people studying in college depends upon a number of factors, but the most important of these is that college applicants are able to find employment. Therefore, both job and education opportunities play an equally important role.