Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether a scientific investigation should be conducted by authorities or private institutions has been a contentious topic on the Internet in the present society. As far as I am concerned, both perspectives have valid points, and a balanced approach is essential in addressing this complex issue. On the one hand, there are many benefits to being manipulated by these enterprises. First of all, private scientific organisations usually can attract more professional and talented elites due to the excellent financial stimulus. Thus they can investigate the most state-of-the-art technique and achieve numbers of technological breakthroughs to acclerate the progress of scientific innovation. Besides, these corporates usually consist of groups of ambitious people, who may endeavour to achieve their goals. For instance, DJI, a company which nearly monopolizes the market of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV), originated from four graduates in China. They overcame difficulties and improved their products step by step and finally achieve their dreams. Moreover, private companies usually compete with each other and aim to maximise their profits, and hence this will stimulate firms to make deeper investigations in order to achieve technological breakthroughs so that they lower the cost of production and become more efficient. Eventually, society will enter a virtuous cycle as these firms are producing more cutting-edge products, which boosts the degree of technological development. However, the presence of regime also plays an essential role. First and foremost, those strategic technology such as making weapons can only be carried out by the government since they are state secrets. Secondly, the authorities have sufficient fund to support research facilities such as equipment and laboratories, therefore, it promotes a secured working condition of cost-benefit analysis by the state in order to keep social stabilization. For example, the government encouraged the public to take the self-investigated vaccination and banned the vaccine produced by private companies since the COVID-19 pandemic started, as the privately-made vaccination has more serious side effects than the those made by states. To conclude, both private corporations and governments conducting scientific research have merits and drawbacks. Under such circumstances, the best approach is to combine the two sides where states can give subsidies and provide aid to private companies when doing research.