In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the dramatically developing technology and medical system, there are more and more individuals having opportunities to live longer lives than before. I personally think that the cons of this trend overshadow the pros. In this essay, I will discuss both standpoints and give my own opinion. To begin with, it is admitted that having an increasing number of old people may benefit our daily lives. First and foremost, the elderly can pass on their knowledge to the young not only in the workplace but also in the study field. For example, a manager who has worked for years is able to teach youngsters how to grapple with obstacles in efficient ways, such as tackling customers' complaints, interacting with colleagues and striking a balance between life and work. Secondly, for those double incomes families, they may find it easier to take care of their children if the old can give them a hand. Nevertheless, I believe that having an ageing population will eventually bring adverse consequences to the folk for several reasons. Firstly, from the perspective of finance, not only will governments but also will the whole society face a heavier financial burden with age. It is the development of the medical system that contributes to a longer life; however, it is also that development should be responsible for making citizens have to spend more money on ensuring these old people's health. To make sure the operation of the medical system, governments may need to cut budgets on other subjects, such as education and fundamental facilities. Furthermore, with more and more people postponing their retirement, the young is likely to have difficulties in finding jobs. In conclusion, despite arguments that an ageing population can have advantages on society, I still suggest that it will eventually do harm to people.