It is often said that crime is a result of societal conditions and poverty, not individual character. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that crime is a consequence of social problems and poverty.  I totally agree with this point of view, however, I also believe that innate characteristics are one of the causes which lead to criminal issues. On the one hand, there are several reasons for becoming a criminal due to a person's nature. Firstly, a person who is cruel easily commits a crime. In particular, a teenager bullying other students at school is more likely to commit offence or take violent actions when becoming an adult. Secondly, bad characteristics such as laziness or selfishness could breed future offenders. This is because those people tend to have money without working for it. As a result, a number of youngsters choose to steal money from others instead of working hard to make their own money. On the other hand, there are many problems in society which might lead to an increase in the crime rate. For example, unemployment could lead people to choose to be a robber or thief as a way of making a living because they can not find a job. As a consequence, the number of offenders has risen in many countries in recent decades. Another reason is that children living in poverty have less chance to access basic education which provides them with knowledge about the danger of breaking the law. Therefore, they decide to engage in illegal activities to support themselves and their families without realising the consequence of their actions. In conclusion, it seems to me that the result of crime is not only a person's nature but also social issues and a poor living.