In many countries, people buy clothes and choose hair styles according to the latest fashion. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, many individuals decide on their personal outlooking styles including clothes and haircuts by taking advice from the latest fashion. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and explain why I believe that this is a negative trend for people. The main reason that people choose clothes and hairstyles depending on the newest fashion trend is that they can save time in this way. That is because by following their idols' choices in magazines or directly purchasing cloth collocations following the lasted trend, people can spend a tiny amount of time shopping, which is a most time -wasting activity for many people, especially those who have intensive work or family pressure. In this way, they can save time for other issues, that are more important than choosing clothes one by one, such as parenting responsibilities or meeting arrangements. For example, according to a survey of Ralph Lauren, their best sellers are popular because their customers find that they can save time by directly purchasing collocations which can be both fashioned enough to wear and time -saving. However, I think making the decision by following the latest fashion is a negative development, because personal preference is the only factor people need to consider when they choose their outlooks, rather than what other people like. By following fashion, individuals will spend less time discovering their personal tastes in clothes and gradually lose their ability to collocate clothes according to their own preferences, which may have problems if the fashioned haircut and suits are not suitable for their body shapes, inside temperament, or the situation that they are going to attend when wearing those clothes. For instance, students who just graduated from school always complain that they have no ideas about the proper clothes they should wear because they have worn school suits for many years, and this can also happen in a grown-up world if they keep depending on fashion to choose their outlooks. In conclusion, people in many parts of the world choose their dressing styles by following the newest trend because they think that this can help them to save time, while it can indeed have negative effects on them by gradually making them lose their own preferences and finding it difficult to choose clothes themselves.