In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this a positive or a nagative development?

In this days it's widely noticed that due to unstoppable, massive abandoning of rural territories, the number of countryside people is declining. And dramatically, as any phenomenon, it also has its advantages and disadvantages. In my point of view, it can mostly lead to negative consequences. So, in the upcoming paragraphs, there will be shed a light on the dark side of such sort of migration. The first thing, which, undoubtfully, should be mentioned is that leaving rural territories potentially can cause degradation of villages. Also it can become a "root" reason for shortening in workplaces, unemployment rate climbing and for infrastructure destroying. In other words, it all can affect economic, social and demographic spheres - which, in turn, can only make countries' positions more complicated. The second significant evidence of negative outcomes can be not quite obvious: the plummet in level of living and possible recession in the countryside economy have an influence on local agriculture. For instance, as a graduate student, who has written a diploma in agriculture and food supply problems, it's definitely crucial point, because with decreasing in efficiency in this sector, the absence of technology development and a sharp need for a high-qualified workforce, it's going to become a catastrophe for some nations - it can affect their independence and make their position on the world arena shaky. To conclude, it ought be said that such moving can have much deeper reasons and because of its tangible consequences, which are degradation in agriculture, suffering food chains and growing "drawbacks" in economic and social spheres, any negative effects may outweigh any positive.