People from older generations have difficulty using smartphones and new technology. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

Technology is progressively becoming universal. Every individual today is holding his or her personal gadget and is busy in his own world. However, we have often seen that our elders are struggling with these inventions and calling us for help again and again. There are various reasons for it and we will discuss a few of them below along with their possible solutions. Firstly, the older generation has never used these devices before and they were not taught about them in their educational institutions either. For instance, Information technology is now a compulsory subject from early years and because of it, even 5-year-old kids can properly handle phones and laptops. So, there is some natural hesitation that needs to be addressed. Secondly, with ageing, the learning curve of our brain usually decreases exponentially. Thus, they need to focus more than the youngsters while learning a new thing. On the other hand, one possible solution for the problem is arranging online sessions for them on different operating systems where only elders can take part so they do not feel shy in asking different points that are bothering them. For example, if a single old person learns one of the systems, he can teach it to all his friends of the same age. Another possible solution is that someone in the family takes responsibility to teach them on a daily basis. This, however, needs a lot of patience and the person taking this responsibility should understand it. Children need to absorb that, the generation they are going to teach has lived and raised in a totally different era. So, it is totally fine if they do not have any basic knowledge of it. To conclude, I would like to say that we should be more gentle and motivating when it comes to our elders. Every time they get ready to learn new stuff, it should be appreciated with an open heart as it takes a lot to polish the mind at an older age.