People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effects does it have on the individuals and on society?

In many parts of the world, residents have fewer sleep periods in contemporary society than in the past. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and its effects on both individual and social levels. The length of sleep is decreasing for many people in this generation because of the usage of smartphones. With the development of technology, we can conveniently enjoy movies or read novels everywhere at any time, even before sleep, and the number of people who have the habit to watch screens for a while before bed is dramatically increasing these years. However, the content they read or watch can have negative effects on their pace of falling asleep and getting enough rest, as those videos or books are designed to attract people by helping their brains generate more dopamine, which is a chemical that can affect sleep quality. For example, a Japanese TV show has invited a healthcare professional to treat the sleep disorder problems of many people and reported that the major reason why people have less sleep is because of the extended period of screen time. The reduced period of sleep of people in different places can have both impacts on individuals and society as a whole. On an individual level, if they have less sleep, they can feel physically exhausted and have problems with concentration, processing information and memory, leading to decreased productivity and performance, both in personal and professional settings. Furthermore, this can result in potential risks like injuries when those people try to finish their daily tasks. On a larger scale, people having less sleep can also have negative effects on society, as this problem can decrease the average efficiency of workers. If the problem continues, there may have a shortage of labour in the market and have impacts on economic growth for a long time. For instance, according to the Japanese government report, the length of sleep period and the economic growth speed are negatively related to each other on a yearly scale. In conclusion, people in many countries complain about the shorter period of sleep time because they are using smart devices for a longer time before bed, and this trend can affect both individuals by causing decreased productivity and society by reducing economic growth if it cannot be solved rapidly.