There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Students nowadays are mainly evaluated through tests rather than regular assignments. This essay will detail both benefits and drawbacks of this statement. On a positive note, an equal and standardised evaluation process can be achieved when examinations take place as the questions and marking schemes used are similar for every individual. This results in a more accurate performance comparison between scholars as evaluators can observe any trends that arise without any major difficulties. To add on, educators can also save time and resources as they are only required to prepare materials for tests. With more time on their hands, they are able to spend more hours focusing on their pupils to brush up on their knowledge regarding a certain syllabus. On the other hand, question-based evaluations are not capable of mirroring a person's full capabilities as compared to continual assessments due to the fact that soft skills, including the ability to work in a team, and leadership traits are often disregarded when tests are conducted. Other than that, students undergo immense pressure throughout their studies because they need to memorise the syllabus which will not produce any joy for them in class. Consequently, they will instantly lose interest in their studies, further discouraging them from trying to achieve higher grades in the future. To conclude, exams are able to benefit both scholars and lecturers as a whole, however, the negative impacts should be taken into account, such as endangering mental health and the incapability of showing a person's full potential.