In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. 🔸What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no denying the fact that working hard is important to achieve goals. While it is a commonly held belief that we should learn younger, it is only the route to achieving dreams. There is also an argument that it is wrong to ignore other factors. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, encouraging children to believe that they can achieve anything with effort can motivate them to work harder and persist in the face of challenges. In other words, this message can foster a growth mindset in children, where they view their abilities as improvable rather than fixed. In addition, it can encourage them to embrace challenges, learn from criticism, and persist in the face of setbacks. For example, the inventor of electricity tried 999 and achieved at 1000. On the other hand, telling children they can achieve anything may set up unrealistic expectations. It is also possible to say that, it may lead to disappointment and decreased self-esteem when they encounter inevitable limitations or failures. Moreover, constantly striving to achieve everything they set out to can result in stress and pressure, potentially affecting a child's mental health and well-being. This can lead to burnout, where the child's mental and physical health suffers due to continuous effort without sufficient rest or reward. For instance, most students take sedatives during exams to relax and do well. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that they should work hard at what they are talented at.