17.Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime , and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The allocation of punishment for criminals has been a highly debated topic. Many intellectuals are in favour of fixed sentences for different crimes, while others believe that judicial systems should take into account all the elements of a crime and sentence accordingly. This article presents both perspectives and elaborates on mine. Firstly, the previous perspective places significant importance on pre-determined sentences for different criminal offences. This optimistic view is leading to a lack of diversity in punishments. As a result, the time-consuming judicial system will become more efficient, and the crime rate will be suppressed to a great extent. For example, fixed penalties can help create a fair work environment, which would boost public trust in the law. Therefore, by implementing a common policy for all criminals, the crime rate will decrease. On the other hand, the latter view paints a picture of the flexibility of the legislative system for various crimes. This view focuses more on the seriousness of the crime, and therefore, the criminal should be punished. In addition, the circumstances and motives of the crime scene are also considered in the judgment. Although this type of jurisdiction is time-consuming, it can save innocent people. For example, a murder and an intentional assassination committed by a person in self-defence require different perspectives and punishments. Therefore, dynamic laws can effectively mitigate potential crimes. In summary, the sentence regarding criminal activity has a significant impact on criminal behaviour. In my opinion, the dynamic characteristics of the jurisdiction are more favourable for society to effectively curb criminal activity.