Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, a large number of citizens with health issues are trying new medicines and treatments instead of seeking help from their usual doctor. I personally think that this could be a negative development because trying new medicines and treatments may be harmful to our health, and it is possible to encounter some type of scam. Trying new medicines and treatments may lead to side effects that are harmful to our bodies. This is mainly because we are unfamiliar with the ingredients that are contained in the medicine. Furthermore, there are no recommendations from an expert on whether to take the medicine or not. A recent study in China shows that 67% percent of Chinese citizens got unwanted diseases after attempting to consume unfamiliar medicines. For example, a student in Guangzhou experienced low-level symptoms of blindness after trying a new eyedrop medicine that was supposed to reduce eye redness. Furthermore, this is why it is best to visit usual doctors, because doctors hold medical records, and are already familiar with the patient’s symptoms. Another crucial issue is the probability of experiencing a type of scam when ordering alternative medicines or treatments. One of the most vulnerable groups to these types of scams is elderly people. This is because they are most likely to believe any sort of information they see on their screens. For example, an unknown company from China promotes their newest healing carpet made with nanotechnology to prevent scoliosis. The worst part is, they tend to charge a huge amount of money for the product and shipping costs. In conclusion, I strongly believe that trying new medicines or treatments may lead to negative developments. The reason for this is that alternative healing products or medicines could be harmful to our bodies, and there is a possibility of experiencing fraud or scams.