Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

The advancements in technology have revolutionized the lifestyle of mankind. A few great examples of such technological advances are computers and the internet, which not only provide convenience but also enable individuals to perform certain tasks from the comfort of their homes. While it has many advantages as mentioned but like any other phenomenon, it also has some drawbacks which is impacting a person's overall well-being. In the upcoming paragraphs, we will discuss both pros and cons of the impact of current technologies which will lead to a logical conclusion. On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that the advances in technology made the human lifestyle more convenient and comfortable. Thanks to internet services, people can work in any part of the world from the comfort of their homes. This work -from-home culture is adopted by many global companies which is not only beneficial for the employees as they save transportation costs and travel time but also for the employers as they do not need to invest in the company's infrastructure. Moreover, this trend has resulted in enhanced productivity and quality of work. This is because, it enables them to work independently and without peer pressure and also, disconnects them from the micro-management of the bosses. Hence, the results in return are both qualitative and quantitative. On the other hand, there are a few shortcomings of this approach such as it is negatively impacting an individual's overall well-being. To exemplify, employees who work from home adapt to more sedentary behaviour as they spent longer hours on screens resulting in poor physical health. Moreover, it enables solitary behaviour because of fewer physical interactions. Consequently, it affects the mental well-being of a worker. Several health organizations revealed statistical data which states that 60% of the employees are prone to depression and anxiety and opt for working from home as compared to office goers. Henceforth, these drawbacks cannot be ignored considering the ongoing trend. In conclusion, contemporary technology such as the Internet has majorly impacted our lifestyle in a positive way by providing more convenience and time-saving means to do our regular jobs, however, it is coupled with a few negatives which make employees more lethargic and prone to mental diseases such as depression and anxiety. Therefore, one can conclude that its advantages are indeed too great but on the other hand, its disadvantages are too dire to ignore.