With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, many people seem to prefer reading e- books to reading books. However, the introduction of e- books may have some benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, reading electronic books has some disadvantages. The first drawback of this would be the eye effect. People who take too much time to read on visual displays of electronic devices or phones have often suffered from eye diseases such as nearsightedness, farsightedness, or blindness. Another disadvantage is that it costs more money to prepare. This means if we start reading e- books, we have to spend a large amount of money to buy electronic tools such as phones, tablets, and laptops as well as install the Internet at home. On the other hand, the benefits of reading e- books far outweigh its disadvantages. First of all, electronic books are very easy to access for all ages. By swiping the screen and searching for books, reading e- books is available for everyone instead of going to bookstores and choosing the kind of book we want. Secondly, electronic books have more reasonable prices than paper books if we have enough necessary devices. Digitization brings us the chance to store documents or many kinds of books at a cheaper price. With only a small amount of money and an electronic tool, we can store countless books or documents. For instance, a Harry Potter hardcopy book can be found in stores for more than 700,000 VND, while a copy of this book with the same content is sold on any website for only 60,000 VND. To conclude, although the trend of e- books has some drawbacks, its benefits are also significant to many people reading them, and electronic books are becoming popular among all generations.