Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals assert that physical might is of utmost importance when it comes to ensuring success in sports while others believe that mental power is more fundamental. Both views are justifiable but I personally lean towards the latter. Without any doubt, sport is physically demanding and challenging, even for professional athletes. This is why they always train hard to improve and maintain their physical prowess in order to become more competitive and formidable. They strongly believe that the harder they train, the better they get. Moreover, if they do not have enough strength, their opponents will get the better of them and they will simply fail. Although physical strength plays a significant role in sports, it is the mental toughness that is more important. This is because in order to become successful, an athlete must possess both muscular power and immense determination. Michael Phelps and Roger Federer are the cases in point. If they did not have a strong mind, they could not endure extremely tiring training regimes, thus, they would not reach their full potential or worse, they would simply give up. Furthermore, mental tenacity plays a vital role not only in training but also in sports matches when they face their opponents. For instance, in a sport game when two sides are equally strong in terms of physical strength and skills, it is the power of will that decides which team wins the match. In conclusion, although physical strength is important, I believe mental power is the key to achieving success in sports.