Smoking should be banned in public places because it not only harms the smokers, but also those who are nearby. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the topic of public smoking has become increasingly prominent. Nevertheless, some believe that smoking should be prohibited in open spaces. Given this, it is my contention that smoking is harmful and should be banned in public areas. Therefore, this essay will explain the impact that smoking has on someone's health and also on the environment. Firstly, one paramount concern is the alleviated well-being of individuals. However, this is twofold; smoking not only the smoker, but also the people who are nearby. For example, Montana Hospital did a study that found traces of nicotine in over 80% of their lung patients, the study continued to mention that only 10% of them are in fact smokers. Moreover, secondary smokers can get addicted to nicotine, because they continuously inhale secondary smoke. Therefore, it is evident that the usage of tobacco should be restricted in public places. Secondly, cigarettes and the exhaling of tobacco can pollute the environment. For instance, a study from National Geographic found that the damage of the ozone layer is impacted by 35% of the chemicals distributed from cigarettes. Furthermore, cigarette butts have also been found to influence the fertility of soil. Given this, unfertile soil and polluted air can have momentous impacts on modern society. Hence, it is essential to underscore that public smoking should be prohibited. In conclusion, the smoking of tobacco can cause severe health risks and also damage the environment. From my point of view, smoking should be banned from open spaces. If smokers are allowed to smoke in open areas, then there might be severe consequences in the foreseeable future.