There seems to be an increasing trend toward assessing students through exams rather than continual assessments. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Exams rather than continual assessments consider to be an increasing trend. In my opinion, The advantages outweigh the disadvantages. There are both advantages and disadvantages in my essay. One of the main disadvantages is that if there is only one exam in one term, students will be stressed because of the test. A test will occupy a higher percentage of the whole final mark, so students must get higher marks than other assignments. Also, they will not study regularly. If students have only one or two tests in one term, they might study almost only one week for the test since they can get high marks if they get better marks on the test. For example, most of my friends in Korea only study hardly for one or two weeks for the test and they got high marks. But they forgot everything after the test, so they can’t memorize what they studied. Students might remember and understand more deeply when they have continual tests. However, students can do their hobby during the semester. They can relieve stress enjoying their hobby or hanging out with their friends because they have only one test. They can develop themselves to do something is not studying. Students can search about their future, or they can study other skills such as hair design, make up, and exercise. Students can have more relaxed mind than when they have tests for a week. Also, some of the students who want to get high scores will study during the semester. Students can study and develop themselves without continual assessments. In conclusion, the advantage is that students can enjoy their life, hobby or study something they like when they have only one or two tests in one semester. The disadvantage is that they can forget what they learned in school when they don’t have continual tests. However, in my opinion, the advantages of exams outweigh the disadvantages.