More and more people no longer read the newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development? Write an essay with no less than 250 words.

With the advent of the internet, the dissemination of information is no longer solely in the hands of a few newspapers or television stations. While it is undoubtedly beneficial to have more avenues for obtaining news, it is crucial to evaluate whether this has made us more informed. In my opinion, online news has had a greater negative effect than positive one. To be sure, digitized information has numerous advantages. Firstly, it ensures that audiences can receive timely reports on issues that they care about. For example, more and more governmental institutions intend to live-stream critical or urgent issues directly to citizens. Secondly, the internet offers an extensive range of topics. It appears that all the happenings worldwide reside on the internet, waiting to be harvested by users. For instance, fans in Asia can keep up-to-date with their favourite American pop singers at any time. However, the abundance of information is also causing problems, such as wasting time. Immersed in a large number of insights, along with white noise, internet users often find it challenging to filter out irrelevant news. Almost everyone can recall aimlessly browsing a website for an hour and ending up with nothing useful. Furthermore, user-generated content currently accounts for an increasingly significant proportion of online news. It pours genuine reports together with personal feelings, political propaganda, or even inflammatory remarks with hidden agendas into the public. This can be largely misleading or deceptive. In conclusion, internet -based news reporting may have more negative effects, as it lacks the scrutiny necessary for an objective and unbiased description of the hard facts. Therefore, it is imperative to be vigilant and cautious about the information we consume.