In many countries, teenagers are being encouraged to do part-time jobs. Some people think it is a positive development while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Teenagers in some countries are encouraged to take up part-time jobs, causing some public controversy. Although some might disagree with this due to its potential drawbacks, I believe that it is offering broad-based benefits for young people. There are several reasons why a teenager should not do a part-time job. First, since working part-time may take up a great amount of time, students' academic performance would be impaired. In fact, there is a number of intense university courses requiring high volumes of homework and self-study, and students would fail these programs if they spend too much time working. Second, having a part-time job while studying may be harmful to teenagers' health and mental wellness. For example, the very lack of a recovery period makes a student susceptible to stress, which can potentially lead to other health issues such as heart disease and stroke. Nevertheless, I would argue that taking up a part-time job can be beneficial in many different ways. Since employers today need more sophisticated skills that are not taught in school, students would have to learn and practice these skills in their part-time jobs. For instance, a young person can learn how to communicate his or her ideas effectively and work together with others from diverse backgrounds thanks to simply being a waitress or a waiter in a restaurant. In addition, by working part-time, they can have an opportunity to develop their gratitude towards their parents. Realizing that earning money requires hard work would propel young people to diligently utilize the investment in education their parents make for them instead of taking it for granted, which can result in higher learning scores. In short, both views can be reasonable to a certain extent. However, I believe that the advantages of teenagers taking up part-time jobs can be more significant since they can build on-the-job experiences and important skills that are essential for their future working lives.