Online shopping has become increasingly popular. Why do people shop online? What are the environmental problems caused by this trend?

Nowadays, people opt to buy things on the Internet than walking into a shop. This essay will discuss why this is the case, and some impacts this imposes on the environment. First, shopping online provides convenience to shoppers. For example, instead of spending a number of hours travelling to buy ingredients for the whole week's dinner, people choose to order them online and have them delivered. This gives buyers time to do other things such as house chores while waiting for the shopping to arrive home. Secondly, buying things on the web opens up ways to purchase international brands that are not available in the country of residence. To illustrate, African immigrants residing in Australia can not find African clothing in the local malls, however, surfing the internet makes it possible to get African-style clothes in a foreign country. As a result, getting things online benefits a lot of residents. Sadly though, this has proven to cause some environmental effects. One of the problems is that it increases air and sea pollution. To explain this, when things are bought overseas they need to be imported. However, accidents may occur which leads to items being wasted in the sea, hence, endangering sea life. Whereas, things purchased nationally will cause air pollution due to an increase in the number of delivery trucks. Another issue can be the filling up of landfills. When citizens order something that is not the right size, they are forced to keep the product without retaining it. Consequently, some people decide to throw the things and this makes the bins to be filled with unwanted items. Therefore, although online shopping is easy and saves time, it has some negative impacts on the environment. In summary, most people are engaging in online shopping because of its convenience and ability to buy things from somewhere else. However, this causes problems such as pollution and large waste.