Some people believe that it is more important to teach secondary/high school students literature of their own country, while others think that it is more important to study literature from all over the world. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Literature has a great influence on our moral values, cultural awareness, perception of other people and our range of interests. Thus, some people suppose that it is essential to read and understand the writings of their nation country, while another group of individuals believe that studying literature from all over the world is extremely important. I think that a knowledge of huge different kinds of compositions from different countries has a great impact on our life. First of all, poetry and prose from our own country help young people to dive into the world of historical values and traditions of their country and deeply understand different events in the past. Knowing the history of their own country, individuals are able to prevent the same mistakes in the present. For instance, knowledge about some problems with the export of different types of products in the past could help with selling these goods nowadays. On the other hand, if students are taught international writing, they become more culturally aware, which is crucial nowadays. Understanding a system of moral values and national traditions of different countries has immense benefits for all individuals, like visiting a large number of countries, having an international business and working at international companies. Besides, reading foreign literature can broaden our horizons and make people more intelligent and creative. To conclude, I believe that a knowledge of a wide range of writings is vital for all individuals due to the fact that people are becoming more culturally aware and intelligent. Moreover, international study, work and business require an understanding of the traditions of this country.