Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a common belief that settling in a country whose language is different may lead to numerous social issues accompanied by practical problems. This essay agrees with this statement because of some main reasons. To begin with, people immigrating to foreign countries may face up to discrimination. This results from the fact that in some countries, the residents often judge and treat the immigrants according to their original nationality. In this way, they tend to keep a hostile manner to the visitors that come from their opponent's nations. Take North Korea as an example, the citizens in this country always consider Americans and Europeans as invaders that have an enormous desire for their territory. Therefore, whenever those people appear, they will be specially observed and even arrested if necessary. Besides, living in a foreign country can create a language barrier and lead to a multitude of misunderstandings on a daily basis. That is because numerous immigrants can hardly convey their demands to their foreign partners due to their lack of command in totally different languages. According to some recent research, over 50% of interviewees said that they find it difficult to communicate with the local residents and almost impossible to adapt to the environment in foreign countries. Consequently, they will soon be isolated and unable to catch up with the flow of the societies. In conclusion, myriad problems can be caused by settling in countries that require people to speak a foreign language. Those include discrimination and language barriers which set immigrants in a disadvantaged condition.