Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Youths are frequently impacted by peers their age in terms of their behaviours and views. This is called “ peer pressure ”. It seems that the upsides still far outweigh the downsides. On the one hand, there is no denying the potential positive impacts of peer pressure on adolescents. To begin, the most supportive peer groups will assist you in beginning to lessen the effects of your poor behaviours. For instance, if you frequently arrive late to individuals, you may start to adjust your behaviour after you notice that all of your friends arrive on time every time. Furthermore, peer pressure is an excellent way for young people to engage in healthy competition. As an example, if there is a good group of intelligent youngsters, there would be rivalry among the children to maintain high academic standards. On the other hand, although peer pressure has many advantages, there still exist some noteworthy disadvantages. Firstly, young people lose themselves when they are under peer pressure. Children who want to fit in must undertake something they don't particularly enjoy doing to gain the acceptance of their peers. Secondly, adolescents can experience self-consciousness and stress related to having to be as talented as friends due to peer pressure. For example, a person could feel inferior and useless when they see an old buddy who has purchased a home or a vehicle but is still making payments on a motorcycle. Finally, when under peer pressure, youthful people will experience worry and even melancholy. They require themselves they must constantly work hard and work more in order to accomplish like others; however this simply makes the task ineffective due to mental tiredness and sadness. To conclude, although peer pressure can be beneficial to youth, this type of pressure has a harmful aspect on youngsters' behaviours and situations. I believe that the disadvantages of this phenomenon outweigh its advantages.