Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When it comes to languages, English has become the most spoken language in the world, while some minority languages are dying since the languages are spoken by fewer people. Although there are debates about government should provide financial support to save the languages that are endangered or not, from my perspective, these languages should be saved and recorded in order to conserve languages and the culture related to them which are nearly extinct. Indeed, saving languages that are spoken by a minority of people could cost a lot of funding since it has to organise a vast number of researchers to collect and record these languages through interviews with the language speakers. Also, people may find these languages less practical compared to those dominant languages and has limited usage in modern society. Therefore, some claim that it is not worth saving these languages since it requires investment from the government to save languages that have less utility. On the other hand, by saving these endangered languages, researchers can have insights into linguistics and history, which enable them to understand the cultures and local customs of the language speakers. Also, these discoveries may enrich the diversity of human culture and help people to find out their identities and the origin of their nation. In addition, by investing in preserving languages with few speakers, the government can maintain the diversity of linguistics and have more connection to the culture of the endangered languages. In conclusion, although it may take a long period of time and a large amount of money to save these languages, it is priceless for the culture and language itself to be conserved.