Some people say that musci is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is a great way of connecting people from various walks of life who have different cultural backgrounds and may not be of the same age. I truly believe that great harmony in communities can be attained by a variety of melodies through various time periods and languages. Although you may not understand the lyrics that are uttered, the tapping of feet, the nodding of heads and humming along to the melody are the most common of things that we all do as we listen to songs. Firstly, music is one of best the ways of expressing our emotions and therefore, impacts how we feel, which strikes a chord in all hearts and influences our mood. We don't merely listen to music, we relish and savour the emotional fluctuations, it brings in us. To illustrate, certain tunes express particular emotions and the manner in which they are played makes it clear to the listener, the meaning they want to convey. A symphony of fast-paced tunes wants to convey anger or frustration while a slow string of notes conveying pathos, moves the young and the old to tears. In many celebrations around the world, cheerful tunes are essential to brighten the atmosphere. Secondly, memories associated with music make it very significant. For instance, an old grandfather having dementia still hums to the lullaby that he sang for his grandson or granddaughter or take for example, how we sing along when we hear a nursery rhyme being sung by children, which takes us down memory lane. In conclusion, what truly brings people and communities together is empathy and feelings that can be felt by all. Memories and emotions connect one to another and the language does not act as a barrier.