Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extent do you agree or disagree .

Some opine that our society at the moment is affected badly by some unethical strategies in advertising. This essay strongly agrees with this argument due to the fact that manipulative advertisements often mislead us and encourage excessive consumption. Firstly, some companies show their vulgarity by providing untrustful statements about their goods or services. They tend to exaggerate the true benefit of their products, or even make up non-existent features in pursuit of profit and customer reach. As a consequence, customers are deceived to buy low-quality or prohibitively expensive things, which causes significant damage to their health and finance. A prime example of this can be, lately, a pharmaceutical firm in Vietnam was arrested for broadcasting a false and harmful fact that their new drug can permanently treat cancer. Another reason worth mentioning here is that advertisements are increasingly promoting consumerism. In other words, persuasive advertisements instil in consumers' minds that they need to buy and show off stuff in order to feel happy, stand out or at least, not to be left behind by their peers, leading to the bad habit of impulsively shopping. For instance, there is a prevalence that Vietnamese youngers feel addicted to shopping online since they are instantly bombarded by commercials and posters marketing commodities every time they surf the internet. In conclusion, some marketing campaigns now are going against laws and social norms, causing many negative effects. The essay supports this perspective because of the deceptive information and the incitement of over-consuming these methods feature.