There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children, Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couple who decide to do this.

Marriage is still considered a big achievement for some people in some countries with the main aim being to have children as their offspring. However, in several parts of the world, there is a phenomenon that married couples taking the decision not to have children during their life. In this essay, I will outline the benefits and drawbacks of this issue in our society’s life. To begin with, being childfree will give more time for married people to focus on their job to achieve higher positions in the workplace which will lead to higher productivity and their financial condition will be more stable to satisfy daily needs. Besides, this decision will reduce overpopulation in some countries which is the main source of social and economic problems such as poverty and famine because of lack of access to higher education and healthcare, for instance in India and China. The statistic shows that only 5% of the population in these countries have the opportunity to pursue higher education which leads to a huge economic gap. Nevertheless, this decision will give adverse consequences for the economic condition because the availability of the workforce will be reduced and lead to steady economic growth in the long run. For example, in Japan, most of their population is dominated by those above 50 years and in the last 20 years, their economic growth is less than 2% a year because of the shortage of labour in various economic sectors since married couples deciding not to have children. In conclusion, I contend that childfree has more disadvantages than its advantage because it will cause detrimental effects on the economic growth of a country in the long run due to a lack of labour in various economic sectors.