Some believe that tourism does more to create tension between countries rather than helping individuals better understand other cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the opinion that tourism industry has created a situation in which its primary intention which was to bridge cultural disparity has been supplanted by unnecessary conflicts between nations. In this essay, I would argue that although there were some minor newsworthy incidents that caused this negative viewpoint towards tourism, it has indeed succeeded in bringing cultures closer as this industry is generating a fortune for the hosts, meanwhile, these damaging incidents which are hugely publicized by the media does not paint the whole picture. One reason for disagreement with the notion that suggests the travelling industry has deteriorated the cultural relationship is that this business often makes up a large portion of revenues in various hospitable countries. Consequently, people's incomes are often dependent on treating travellers nicely and being very accommodating in relations with them. This often at least one-sidedly heals any residual anger between the host and the guest. For instance, countries such as Italy and France whose GDP is largely based on the number of tourists visiting them, are often regarded as hospitable nations and the result is that their cultures are renowned around the world. The more tourism industry is significant for a nation's economy, the more pleasant and friendly their inhabitants have to behave and as a result, their cultures will be well-known. Moreover, even in the most suitable environments, some blips may occur that the disdainful may deem the end of the concept. Surly, some unwanted reactions can take place and further exacerbated by the media which are mostly due to internal or external factors like exhaustion or misunderstanding between the two parties, which may wrongly demonstrate an increase in the gap between cultures. Nevertheless, these slights should not be interpreted as such because exceptions sometimes happen. In conclusion, I would argue that in spite of some minor events which may represent the tension between countries as a result of tourism, this industry has brought nations closer since it is not only a substantial source of income for tourist-friendly countries, but also they are in large accommodating their guests in a pleasant manner.